Model assessment · Hamilton Beach

Hamilton Beach 6-in-1 Dual Level Air Fry Oven review

A single-cavity, manual-dial oven with six named functions, three rack positions and a dedicated Air Fry setting. Its 18.8-inch published width is within the site's compact-width group, but cubic-foot capacity and toast-slice count are not stated.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

Exact U.S. model 31466J. Do not merge with other Hamilton Beach oven codes based only on the shared brand, silver finish or similar dimensions.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Hamilton Beach 31466J toaster oven with one horizontal cavity, glass door, three front dials and air-fry basket
Hamilton Beach manufacturer image of the 31466J with its basket in the single oven cavity. Staged food is illustrative; photography-versus-render status is uncertain. Hamilton Beach exact 31466J U.S. product-page gallery
A useful fit for

A current-reference option for someone who wants a straightforward manual-dial toaster oven with six named modes including Air Fry, a 12-inch-pizza example and a 1700-watt rating. The page lists an 18.8 × 14.9 × 12-inch body; the booklet places the basket at the top or middle rack and calls for a drip pan under it for juicy/fatty foods.

The main tradeoff

The 'Dual Level' name and multiple rack positions do not create separately controlled ovens: the manual describes one shared cavity and one selected function. No cubic-foot capacity, toast-slice count, appliance weight or countertop side/top clearance is published in the exact material reviewed. There is no listed named convection bake, Dehydrate, Proof, Slow Cook, Steam, Grill, app control or probe; Air Fry circulation is a narrower capability.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does 31466J give me Air Fry and regular toaster-oven work without pretending the rack levels are two ovens?

Yes. One documented plan includes Air Fry, bake, broil, toast, pizza and warm as alternate settings in one cavity; if two separately controlled schedules are essential, this model does not meet that need.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will it meet a 19-inch body-width ceiling, and why will an 18.5-inch limit exclude it?

The exact product page lists an 18.8-inch body width, so the 31466J meets a 19-inch body-only ceiling and fails an 18.5-inch ceiling. The body limit does not include separate countertop clearance, plug space or room to open the door.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does 'Dual Level' satisfy a requirement for two separately controlled cooking zones?

No. The manual and page show multiple rack levels inside one cavity controlled by one function selector; separate upper/lower schedules are not documented.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Hamilton Beach 6-in-1 Dual Level Air Fry Oven (31466J) is a manual-control toaster oven with an actual Air Fry setting, conventional oven jobs and a simple three-dial panel. Its most important distinction is that “dual level” does not mean two separately timed ovens: it has one shared cavity and a single function selector. That makes it worth comparing if you want air frying and regular baking in one appliance, but not if your plan depends on one dish finishing independently from another.

Six settings, not six cooking chambers

The product page and linked Use & Care guide list six functions: Air Fry, Bake, Broil, Toast, Pizza and Warm. The three manual dials control temperature, function and timer. Temperature spans 150–450°F; the timer is marked from 10 to 60 minutes and has a Stay On setting. The exact model’s feature list does not include an app workflow, food probe, Dehydrate, Slow Cook, Proof, Steam or Grill.

One potentially confusing label is convection. The manual explains that Air Fry circulates forced hot air, but the oven’s six-function menu does not identify a separate Convection Bake control. Air movement during Air Fry is useful, but it is not a reason to treat the 31466J as a model with a named convection-bake setting. If that setting matters to your recipes, compare a unit whose exact control panel and guide document it.

What the “dual level” format actually adds

The manual describes three rack positions: lower for larger roasts, middle for most toasting and baking, and upper for air frying and broiling. The Air Fry basket can be placed at the upper or middle level; for juicy or fatty foods, the guide directs you to put the bake pan under the basket to catch drips. The manufacturer gallery illustrates basket-and-pan use at separate heights. That layout is handy for airflow and mess management, but it does not establish two separately controlled temperatures or finish times. Both pieces share one cavity, one set of dials and one cooking session.

Use the basket in a single layer and keep food at least one inch from the heating elements, as the guide instructs. The manual warns that some foods may need turning or stirring, and says to check doneness rather than assuming a package time transfers unchanged. It also notes that the timer begins counting before preheat is complete. For a bake or pizza session, plan the manual’s preheating step and adjust the timer when food goes in; for repeated batches, Stay On can be more convenient than restarting a timed cycle.

Capacity examples need to be read separately

Hamilton Beach gives three useful but distinct size references: an 8-pound turkey or chicken, six burgers, and a 12-inch pizza. These are not a promise that all fit together, nor do they establish a cubic-foot cavity measurement. The exact manual does not state a maximum bread-slice count; six burgers should not be mistaken for six slices of toast. If your priority is toast for a specific number of people, measure your bread layout and check the usable rack rather than relying on the oven’s “extra-large” wording.

The exact product page lists body dimensions of 18.8 inches wide by 14.9 deep by 12 high. The width falls inside this guide’s 15.0–18.9-inch compact-width band, but the 18.8-inch body still needs room around it. Those are body dimensions, not a safe installed footprint. The manual requires a one-inch gap between food and heating elements but does not give a separate side/top counter-clearance number in the reviewed guide. Measure the opening, plug location, door movement and space for a hot pan; consult the full current guide for placement before setting it beside cabinets.

Power and cleanup are part of the daily routine

The linked manual identifies model/type 31466J/O107 and lists 120 volts, 60 hertz and 1700 watts. It cautions against putting another high-wattage appliance on the same circuit, a useful check in a compact kitchen with several countertop heaters.

The product page lists an air-fry basket, bake pan, broil rack and removable crumb tray; the manual calls the rack an oven rack. After unplugging and cooling, the guide says to wash the basket, tray, pan and rack in hot soapy water, rinse and dry, and wipe the cavity with a damp soapy sponge. It warns against metal scouring pads and scratching the heating tube, and says to use the crumb tray securely in place. Dishwasher-safe status is not stated, so do not assume it from the finish. The manual gives a one-year limited warranty for products purchased and used in the United States and Canada; that does not tell you whether a particular used or returned unit remains covered.

Who should choose it—and who should keep looking

The 31466J is a plausible fit if you want six plainly labeled cooking modes, particularly Air Fry alongside Toast and Bake, and can make room for an 18.8-inch-wide body. Manufacturer-listed pizza and poultry examples are available, but cubic-foot capacity and toast-slice count remain unknown. If you require two separate schedules, compare the Ninja DCT651. If a named oven-style convection control is essential, compare the Cuisinart TOA-70NAS rather than assuming an Air Fry fan is equivalent. Tight counters call for a smaller, dimension-verified unit.

This is a source-based review, not a cooking test; it reports no measured temperature accuracy, toast color, noise, cooking speed or long-term reliability. Check the exact 31466J product page and its linked Use & Care guide before buying. No particular seller, price, stock state, recall determination or warranty coverage is implied.

Key details at a glance

Nominal pizza size12 in
Named cooking functions6
On-oven functions listed by the manufacturerAir Fry / Bake / Broil / Toast / Pizza / Warm
Dedicated Air Fry presetYes
Dedicated Dehydrate presetNo
Convection fan/control documentedNo
Slow Cook presetNo
App-connected oven controlNo
Selectable rack positions3
Appliance body width18.8 in
Appliance body depth14.9 in
Appliance body height12 in
Electrical rating1700 W
Included wired food-temperature probe with preset doneness controlNo
French-door openingNo
Dedicated dough Proof programNo

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Paper, software and setup details

App-only cooking modes

None documented in the exact product page or manual.

Listed supply voltage

Exact linked Use & Care guide lists model 31466J / type O107 / 120 V ~ 60 Hz / 1700 W. The guide warns against using another high-wattage appliance on the same circuit.

Manufacturer warranty summary

The manual states a one-year limited warranty for products purchased and used in the U.S. and Canada, beginning at original delivery. This does not establish coverage for a particular used, returned or replacement unit.

Included cooking pieces

The exact product page lists a metal air-fry basket, bake pan, broil rack and removable crumb tray. The manual calls the cooking rack an oven rack. Confirm package completeness and the rack's exact naming for the specific listing.

Practical care and placement

Unplug and cool the oven fully before cleaning; keep the removable crumb tray securely in place. The manual says to wash the air-fry basket, crumb tray, baking pan and oven rack in hot soapy water, rinse and dry, and wipe the interior with a damp soapy sponge. It prohibits metal scouring pads and warns not to scratch the heating tube. Dishwasher safety is not stated in the reviewed guide.

Sources for this assessment

Choose around the jobs you will actually repeat.

Check pan size, placement clearance and the exact model suffix before deciding.