Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Do you need a dedicated Air Fry setting in a flatbed oven with manual dials?
The exact 31418JN page lists Air Fry as a named setting; the guide gives single-layer basket instructions and warns that cooking may take longer than a standalone fryer.
Explore this need in the finder →Is a separate Convection control essential, rather than an Air Fry fan?
The exact nine-option list does not name Convection. The Air Fry setting's forced-air circulation is not treated as a separate Convection Bake feature.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you need two independently controlled cooking zones?
No independent upper/lower settings are documented. The manufacturer page claims dual-rack cooking, but the linked manual describes one cavity and three rack positions.
Explore this need in the finder →Can you impose a hard 16-inch body-width limit from the published 31418JN dimensions?
No. The maker's 7.2-inch width copy conflicts with its 12-inch-pizza example and remains unknown; an essential width limit will not be treated as satisfied.
Explore this need in the finder →Is a dedicated Dehydrate cycle essential?
Dehydrate is not among the exact page's nine mode names or the linked guide's named modes; the model is excluded for that essential requirement.
Explore this need in the finder →The Hamilton Beach 6 Slice Sure-Crisp Air Fry Oven (31418JN) is a dial-controlled countertop oven with nine named cooking options and a manufacturer claim of cooking on two racks at once. Its strongest practical distinction is breadth at a familiar toaster-oven scale: Air Fry, Bake, Broil, Toast, Bagel, Pizza, Roast, Warm and Reheat all appear on the exact U.S. product page. The directly linked Use & Care guide identifies the 31418 family as type O93 and rates it at 120 V, 60 Hz and 1500 W. That makes it a candidate for someone who wants an ordinary oven-format toaster with a dedicated Air Fry choice, not an independently controlled multi-zone appliance.
Nine labels, one cooking session at a time
This matters if you want more than a basic Air Fry/Bake/Broil/Toast set, but the count is not nine separate cavities or nine temperatures running together. The guide shows temperature, function and toast/timer dials and describes selecting a mode, setting time and unplugging after use. It has one cooking chamber and no documented upper/lower controls, app control or food probe. “Dual-rack cooking” is Hamilton Beach’s product-page claim; it is not evidence of separately timed zones.
The page also promises three rack positions and says it fits six slices of toast, a 12-inch pizza, a 5-pound chicken or a 9-by-11-inch pan. Those are separate fit examples, not a guarantee that a particular handled pan clears the door or that all those foods fit together. It does not publish a cubic-foot capacity. Air Fry uses forced hot air, but there is no separately named Convection setting in the nine-option list. If a conventional Convection Bake control is essential, do not treat the Air Fry fan as a substitute.
Measure carefully: the published width needs clarification
The exact page and the maker’s category card give the body as 14.18 inches deep, 7.2 inches wide and 9.06 inches high. That width figure is difficult to reconcile with the same page’s 12-inch-pizza example. Both pages repeat the same copy, so they do not independently resolve the conflict. I have not silently changed 7.2 to a more plausible number: width is recorded as unknown for fit matching. Before you commit to a narrow counter or cabinet opening, ask Hamilton Beach to confirm the exterior width for the exact 31418JN label. The printed body dimensions also are not a safe-placement envelope; leave room for the cord, door, hot pans and the clearances in the manual.
Air Fry operation, two-rack claims and the included set
The manual says to use the basket in a single layer, avoid overcrowding, and keep food at least one inch from a heating element. Small, flat foods go in the top rack position; larger items use the middle position. Larger or thicker foods may need turning or stirring partway through. The manual explicitly warns that this Air Fry mode may take longer than a standalone air fryer. These are useful operating constraints, not a promise that every batch will brown evenly or finish on a given schedule.
There is a documentation wrinkle worth checking if the two-level claim is a deciding feature. The product page describes dual-rack cooking and illustrates a meal split over two levels. The linked guide lists three rack positions and identifies an oven rack, a baking/broiling pan, an Air Fry basket and a slide-out crumb tray; it does not give a separate two-rack procedure. The product page’s package description uses the term “broil rack” where the guide’s parts list says “oven rack.” Confirm the included physical pieces and how Hamilton Beach intends the second cooking level to be supported before planning simultaneous dishes.
Toast, cleaning and safety in ordinary use
This is a flatbed toaster oven, not a slot toaster. The manual places the rack in the middle position for toast and uses the timer to select browning; bagels go cut-side up. Five minutes of preheating is specified for Bake, while the guide says Broil does not need preheating.
For care, unplug and let the oven cool. The guide says to wash the crumb tray, pan, basket and rack in hot soapy water, rinse and dry; wipe the interior, bottom and glass door with a damp soapy cloth. It prohibits metal scouring pads and says to keep the crumb tray in place. Dishwasher safety is not stated. The safety section says not to operate the oven unattended, to leave at least one inch between food and heating elements, and not to cover the crumb tray. Because it draws 1500 W, the manual cautions against sharing its circuit with another high-wattage appliance. It lists a one-year limited warranty for products purchased and used in the U.S. and Canada; that does not establish coverage for a particular used or returned unit.
Who should shortlist the 31418JN?
Consider it if you want manual dials, a named Air Fry cycle, toast and bagel functions, and the maker’s 6-slice/12-inch-pizza fit examples in one flatbed oven. Its nine labels may be useful when Pizza, Roast, Warm or Reheat are part of your routine. Choose a different configuration if a verified width is a must-have, if you require a separate Convection Bake setting, or if two independently controlled cooking zones are essential. The Hamilton Beach 31220 has a documented 15.1-inch body width and distinct Convection and Dehydrate settings; the 31466J offers manual controls and a named Pizza function but no separate Convection control. Compare the three model pages before buying; the Sure-Crisp label alone does not specify the same mode set or dimensions.
This review is based on the exact Hamilton Beach 31418JN U.S. product page and its linked Use & Care guide. Manufacturer capacity, cooking and browning statements are presented as manufacturer claims; no independent lab measurements, hands-on performance, ownership, durability or customer-review evidence is claimed.
Key details at a glance
| Toast capacity stated by the manufacturer | 6 slices |
|---|---|
| Nominal pizza size | 12 in |
| Named cooking functions | 9 |
| On-oven functions listed by the manufacturer | Air Fry / Bake / Broil / Toast / Bagel / Pizza / Roast / Warm / Reheat |
| Dedicated Air Fry preset | Yes |
| Dedicated Dehydrate preset | No |
| Convection fan/control documented | No |
| Slow Cook preset | No |
| App-connected oven control | No |
| Selectable rack positions | 3 |
| Appliance body depth | 14.18 in |
| Appliance body height | 9.06 in |
| Electrical rating | 1500 W |
| Included wired food-temperature probe with preset doneness control | No |
| French-door opening | No |
| Dedicated dough Proof program | No |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Paper, software and setup details
App-only cooking modes
None documented on the exact product page or linked Use & Care guide.
Listed supply voltage
The linked guide's type panel lists 31416, 31418 and 31419, type O93, 120 V ~ 60 Hz, 1500 W; the exact 31418JN page links that family guide. The guide cautions against using another high-wattage appliance on the same circuit.
Manufacturer warranty summary
The linked guide states a one-year limited warranty for products purchased and used in the U.S. and Canada, beginning at original delivery. This does not establish coverage for a particular used, returned or replacement unit.
Included cooking pieces
The exact product page names a mesh Air Fry basket, bake pan, broil rack and removable crumb tray; the linked guide's parts diagram/list names an Oven Rack, Baking/Broiling Pan, Air Fry Basket and slide-out crumb tray. The product page also claims dual-rack cooking, but the guide gives no separate two-rack procedure. Confirm the physical kit and rack terminology for the exact listing. The three part pages linked under the page's Parts & Accessories list are not proof of replacement-part fit.
Practical care and placement
Unplug and let the oven cool fully. The guide says to wash the slide-out crumb tray, Baking/Broiling Pan, Air Fry Basket and Oven Rack in hot soapy water, rinse and dry; wipe the interior, bottom and glass door with a damp soapy cloth. Do not use metal scouring pads, do not scratch the heating element tube and keep the crumb tray securely in place. Dishwasher-safe status is not stated.
Sources for this assessment
- Hamilton Beach U.S. toaster-ovens category row for 6 Slice Sure-Crisp Air Fry Oven 31418JN
- Hamilton Beach 6 Slice Sure-Crisp Air Fry Oven exact U.S. model page 31418JN
- Hamilton Beach Use & Care guide 840384802 linked directly from the 31418JN page
- Hamilton Beach exact 31418JN model hero image
- Hamilton Beach exact 31418JN VPA-02 gallery image
Choose around the jobs you will actually repeat.
Check pan size, placement clearance and the exact model suffix before deciding.
