Model assessment · Hamilton Beach

Hamilton Beach Easy Reach 4-Slice Toaster Oven 31344DA review

An earlier U.S. 1,200-watt manual toaster oven with one cavity, three named functions and an upward-opening Easy Reach roll-top door.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

Earlier U.S. model 31344DA; exact manufacturer page says NO LONGER AVAILABLE. Directly linked Type O57 guide lists base model 31344 and suffix allowance, 120 V / 60 Hz / 1,200 W.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Hamilton Beach Easy Reach 4 Slice Toaster Oven model 31344DA with upward-opening roll-top door and manual controls
Exact 31344DA manufacturer hero image; staged toast and meal are illustrative. Photography, rendering or composite provenance is not disclosed. Hamilton Beach exact 31344DA U.S. product-page hero image
A useful fit for

A plausible earlier-model fit if toast, small bakes and broiling are the priority; the maker's separate four-slice and 9-inch-pizza examples fit your cookware; and a 16.1-inch-wide body with upward door travel suits your counter.

The main tradeoff

The upward-opening door and small body preserve front counter access, but the oven has only three documented functions and a 30-minute manual timer, with no documented Air Fry or convection setting. Capacity in cubic feet, interior pan dimensions and remaining used-unit warranty are unknown; verify condition and pieces.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Could the 31344DA fit the maker's separate four-slice and 9-inch-pizza examples on a 16.5-inch body-width limit?

The exact page lists four toast slices, a 9-inch pizza, a roll-top door and a 16.1-inch body width. They are separate fit examples, not a simultaneous-load guarantee; allow extra operating space.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will the 31344DA fit a strict 16-inch-wide counter opening?

No. Hamilton Beach lists the body at 16.1 inches wide, before plug, operating clearance or the door's upward path.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the 31344DA meet a no-fan, manual Toast/Bake/Broil routine without a digital program requirement?

Its exact page names Toast, Bake and Broil and the page-linked Type O57 guide shows manual temperature/timer controls; no convection fan or digital program is documented for this model.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the 31344DA meet an essential requirement for a dedicated Air Fry cycle?

No. The exact page and linked guide document three modes—Toast, Bake and Broil—not Air Fry.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the 31344DA pass a strict cubic-foot-capacity minimum from its slice and pizza examples?

No. The maker provides separate food-fit examples but does not publish cubic-foot cavity volume, so an essential minimum stays unknown.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the upward roll-top door satisfy a French-door requirement?

No. The exact page shows an upward-moving single roll-top door, not a two-leaf French-door opening.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Hamilton Beach Easy Reach 4 Slice Toaster Oven with Roll-Top Door, model 31344DA, is a small, manual countertop oven built around three basic jobs: toast, bake and broil. Its most distinctive feature is the door that rolls upward rather than swinging out over the counter. Hamilton Beach’s exact U.S. page identifies 31344DA and says “NO LONGER AVAILABLE.” Treat it as an earlier-model assessment for a clearly identified remaining or used unit—not as evidence of current retail stock or the condition of any particular oven.

Easy Reach access in a relatively compact body

The door lifts up and out of the way when you load or remove food, so it does not occupy the counter space immediately in front of the oven. The manufacturer also says the door can be removed for cleaning. That may be useful on a shallow counter or where a forward-opening door would be awkward, but the path moves above the oven: leave room overhead and around the plug, hot pans and hands. The listed 16.1-inch width, 11.9-inch depth and 9-inch height describe the body, not a complete safe-placement footprint or the space needed for the open door.

This is the smaller four-slice Easy Reach format, not a mini version of every Hamilton Beach oven with a similar name. The manufacturer lists four slices of bread and a 9-inch pizza as fit examples. Those examples describe different loads, not a promise that every four-slice arrangement and every round pizza will fit together. The page also uses the phrase “complete sheet pan meals,” but does not specify a sheet-pan measurement or internal cavity dimensions. If a particular pan is essential, measure its outside dimensions, handles and clearance rather than inferring a pan size from that phrase.

Three manual functions instead of preset-heavy cooking

The exact page names Bake, Broil and Toast, with a temperature dial spanning 200°F to 450°F. The controls are manual: temperature and timer knobs, a ready bell, a 30-minute timer with a Stay On setting and automatic shutoff. That is an uncomplicated arrangement for toast, reheating or a small bake, but it does not supply a digital display, recipe automation or a documented dedicated Air Fry, Dehydrate, Slow Cook, Proof, steam or convection setting. If a forced-air cycle or precise digital program is a must-have, choose a model whose exact page and manual document that function rather than treating this ordinary bake cycle as equivalent.

The guide shows two rack positions: the lower position for baking and toasting, and the higher position for broiling. This is one cavity with movable rack placement, not two independently controlled zones. The manual’s toast routine puts food on the low rack and advises adjusting the time and shade for the bread and batch size; it notes that four slices may need a darker toast setting than two. That is a useful reminder that nominal slice capacity is not a uniform-toast guarantee across bread thicknesses and freshness.

Cleaning and handling are part of the tradeoff

The roll-top door and slide-out crumb tray are removable, and the page lists an oven rack and bake pan as included pieces. The guide explains how to remove and replace the door for cleaning, but warns not to put the glass door in the dishwasher. Unplug and let the oven cool before cleaning; wipe the cavity and glass with a damp soapy cloth, use a plastic rather than metal scouring pad for stubborn marks, and keep the crumb tray installed during operation. The maker specifically says not to run the appliance with the door open or removed.

For safety, the guide also says to keep food at least an inch from the heating element, avoid leaving the oven unattended, and not to cover the crumb tray with foil. Toast and broil deserve attention because they expose food close to the heating elements. The directly linked guide covers the 31344 model family and says the guide’s model numbers may carry letter suffixes; its rating panel identifies Type O57, 120 volts, 60 Hz and 1,200 watts. It states a one-year limited U.S. warranty under its printed terms, but that does not establish remaining coverage on an older appliance.

Who should consider it—and what to compare

Consider 31344DA if your routine is mostly toast, small bakes and broiling; the four-slice and 9-inch-pizza examples are enough; and the upward door plus 16.1-inch body width suit your counter. A hard width ceiling of 16 inches is too tight for the listed body before adding any operating room. The manufacturer does not publish cubic-foot volume, weight or interior measurements, so the model cannot substantiate a strict minimum-volume requirement.

If you want a similar roll-top layout with a larger listed cooking envelope and convection, compare the Hamilton Beach 31126D Easy Reach, whose page lists six slices, a 12-inch pizza and a convection setting; its 20-inch body is substantially wider. If Air Fry matters more, the earlier 31436 Sure-Crisp Easy Reach adds an Air Fry function and is wider still at 21.3 inches. These are different configurations, not interchangeable suffixes. For 31344DA, identify the exact label, inspect the door and glass, confirm the pan, rack and crumb tray are present, and check the seller’s condition and return terms before relying on a used unit.

Sources: Hamilton Beach’s exact 31344DA U.S. product page and the directly linked Use & Care guide 840286901.

Key details at a glance

Toast capacity stated by the manufacturer4 slices
Nominal pizza size9 in
Named cooking functions3
On-oven functions listed by the manufacturerBake / Broil / Toast
Dedicated Air Fry presetNo
Dedicated Dehydrate presetNo
Convection fan/control documentedNo
Slow Cook presetNo
App-connected oven controlNo
Selectable rack positions2
Appliance body width16.1 in
Appliance body depth11.9 in
Appliance body height9 in
Electrical rating1200 W
Factory-recertified listingNo
Included wired food-temperature probe with preset doneness controlNo
French-door openingNo
Dedicated dough Proof programNo

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Paper, software and setup details

App-only cooking modes

No app or app-only feature is documented on the exact product page or directly linked Use & Care guide.

Listed supply voltage

Directly linked guide 840286901 includes base model 31344 and permits alphabetic model suffixes; its Type O57 rating panel states 120 V, 60 Hz and 1,200 W.

Manufacturer warranty summary

The directly linked guide states a one-year limited warranty for U.S. purchases under its printed terms. It does not establish remaining coverage for a used or older unit.

Included cooking pieces

The exact page lists an oven rack, bake pan and slide-out crumb tray; the linked guide parts diagram also labels the oven door, oven rack, baking pan and crumb tray. Confirm the rack, pan and tray are present and undamaged on a particular used unit.

Practical care and placement

Unplug and cool fully before cleaning. The guide instructs wiping the oven walls, bottom and glass with a damp soapy cloth; a plastic scouring pad may be used for stubborn stains. It explains removal of the roll-top glass door for hand cleaning and says not to put the door in a dishwasher. Do not use metal scouring pads, and keep the crumb tray installed during use.

Sources for this assessment

Choose around the jobs you will actually repeat.

Check pan size, placement clearance and the exact model suffix before deciding.