Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Are you specifically looking for a factory-recertified Hamilton Beach oven rather than a standard 31418 offer?
The R31418 has a distinct factory-recertified product page and a 90-day warranty. The separate standard 31418 and nine-option 31418JN are different model identities; do not transfer the R31418 warranty or condition to them.
Explore this need in the finder →Can R31418 satisfy an Air Fry need while accepting only its four listed controls?
Yes: the exact page lists Air Fry, Bake, Broil and Toast. It does not establish separate convection, dehydrate, proof or slow-cook programs.
Explore this need in the finder →Will R31418 fit a 15-inch counter-width limit?
Unknown. The manufacturer prints 7.2 inches wide, which conflicts with its 12-inch-pizza example; do not use it for a hard width match until Hamilton Beach confirms the exact exterior measurement.
Explore this need in the finder →The Hamilton Beach Recertified Sure-Crisp Air Fryer Countertop Toaster Oven (R31418) is a current factory-recertified listing for a straightforward dial-controlled oven. The meaningful choice is twofold: whether its simple cooking plan fits your kitchen, and whether you are comfortable buying the maker's recertified version rather than the separate standard 31418 or the nine-option 31418JN. The exact R31418 page identifies the product as professionally recertified, says it has been tested and inspected, includes accessories and a manual, and provides a 90-day warranty. It does not establish a longer warranty or the condition of any particular unit after delivery.
Four named modes, one cavity
Hamilton Beach lists Air Fry, Bake, Broil and Toast. This is a simple plan for crisping a small basket of food, reheating or baking with a pan, browning under the broiler and ordinary flat-rack toast. The oven uses one cavity and one schedule; it is not a dual-zone appliance. Air Fry is a named setting with the maker's described air circulation, but the exact R31418 page does not list a separate Convection setting, Dehydrate, Proof, Slow Cook or steam program. Do not count the airflow wording as a fifth mode or assume it offers all of the low-temperature functions found on larger digital ovens.
The product page states that temperature runs from 150°F to 450°F and gives separate capacity examples: six slices of toast, a 12-inch pizza, a 9-by-11-inch baking pan and a whole five-pound chicken. Those are manufacturer fit claims, not independent tests, and they do not mean all examples fit at once. A mesh air-fry basket plus a pan beneath it is the described way to catch drippings. The page says the cavity has three rack positions and gives a 30-minute timer with ready bell, automatic shutoff and a stay-on setting. A short timer may be fine for frequent small jobs, but anyone planning longer cooking should confirm how to use the stay-on control and remain with the appliance; the family Use & Care guide warns against unattended operation.
Do not match the printed width without checking
The maker prints exterior dimensions of 14.18 inches deep, 7.2 inches wide and 9.06 inches high. That 7.2-inch width conflicts with the same page's 12-inch pizza example and is not a sensible figure to use for a hard counter-fit decision. The matching record therefore leaves body width unknown rather than silently correcting the maker's copy. Ask Hamilton Beach to confirm the exact R31418 exterior width, and measure the body, plug, door swing and hot-pan route at home. Countertop placement also needs the clearance and safety directions for the actual appliance; a compact-looking product image is not a clearance diagram.
Recertified terms and the accessory mismatch
The distinction from a standard new listing is not just a letter in the model code. R31418 is explicitly labeled factory recertified on its own product page, which states a 90-day warranty and links to Hamilton Beach's recertified-product FAQ. That FAQ says the recertified range is covered by the same 90-day warranty and the company's standard return policy. Keep that term with this exact offer; do not copy the one-year language from the separate 31418 family guide onto R31418. The manufacturer page's “includes five accessories” statement is also less precise than its image caption, which names four pieces: mesh basket, bake pan, broil rack and removable crumb tray. A related 31418 family guide labels an oven rack, pan, basket and crumb tray, but the R31418 page does not link that PDF directly. Treat the fifth piece and the exact recertified-box contents as unconfirmed until the package or order description resolves them.
The normal 31418 page and the R31418 page share the same four-mode descriptions and the same dimensions/capacity wording; they remain different purchasing identities. The standard 31418 page links Use & Care guide 840360800, whose model/type panel names the 31418 family and whose 120 V, 60 Hz, 1500 W rating is consistent with the R31418 product page's 1500 W claim. That is helpful family documentation, not proof that every instruction or warranty term applies unchanged to the recertified-prefix unit. For another branch of the family, 31418JN has nine listed cooking options and a dual-rack claim; it should not be conflated with this four-mode R31418. Hamilton Beach's 31193G adds a dedicated rotisserie control and spit, unlike R31418.
Who should consider the R31418?
It suits someone who wants a simple Air Fry/Bake/Broil/Toast countertop oven and is deliberately considering a manufacturer-recertified offer with a shorter, explicitly stated warranty. If you want the exact recertified product, select the factory-recertified-only option in the finder; other models without confirmed recertified status will not pass that requirement. If you prefer a standard new model, do not infer that the R31418 is the same offer with a different title: compare the separate 31418 listing, confirm seller condition and warranty, and check the exact model suffix.
Skip this configuration if verified width is essential, if you need independently scheduled zones, or if Dehydrate, Proof, Slow Cook, Convection or a longer named program list is a must. A larger model such as the Hamilton Beach 31220 has a different digital control and mode set; 31418JN adds modes but still should not be assumed to have two independent ovens. The R31418 is the more limited, recertified path, and its current availability is only the dated manufacturer-page state—not a promise that stock or the same terms will remain.
This assessment uses the exact Hamilton Beach R31418 U.S. product page, its linked factory-recertified FAQ, and the related standard 31418 page and family Use & Care guide. Those sources do not establish independent cooking results, long-term reliability, a corrected width, or the exact fifth accessory. No hands-on ownership, lab measurements, customer-review evidence or performance testing is claimed.
Key details at a glance
| Toast capacity stated by the manufacturer | 6 slices |
|---|---|
| Nominal pizza size | 12 in |
| Named cooking functions | 4 |
| On-oven functions listed by the manufacturer | Air Fry / Bake / Broil / Toast |
| Dedicated Air Fry preset | Yes |
| Dedicated Dehydrate preset | No |
| Convection fan/control documented | No |
| Slow Cook preset | No |
| App-connected oven control | No |
| Selectable rack positions | 3 |
| Appliance body depth | 14.18 in |
| Appliance body height | 9.06 in |
| Electrical rating | 1500 W |
| Factory-recertified listing | Yes |
| Included wired food-temperature probe with preset doneness control | No |
| French-door opening | No |
| Dedicated dough Proof program | No |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Paper, software and setup details
App-only cooking modes
None documented on the exact R31418 page or the separately linked standard-model family guide.
Listed supply voltage
The exact R31418 page states 1500 W but does not state line voltage. The standard 31418 page links Use & Care guide 840360800; its family/type panel lists 31416/31418/31419, type O93, 120 V, 60 Hz and 1500 W. The R-prefix is not explicitly named in that panel, so treat this as family context rather than a proven exact R31418 manual link.
Manufacturer warranty summary
The exact R31418 product page says this factory-recertified configuration is backed by a 90-day warranty. The linked manufacturer FAQ states recertified products use the same 90-day warranty and standard returns policy. Do not apply the separate standard 31418 family's one-year warranty text to R31418.
Included cooking pieces
The R31418 page says it includes five accessories and all accessories/manuals; its exact image caption names a mesh Air Fry basket, bake pan, broil rack and slide-out crumb tray (four pieces). The fifth piece and the exact contents of an individual recertified package are not itemized on the page. The standard 31418 guide labels an oven rack, baking/broiling pan, basket and crumb tray but is not directly linked from R31418. Do not infer replacement-part fit from the separate standard 31418 parts list.
Practical care and placement
The exact R31418 page provides no detailed cleaning instructions and does not link a Use & Care PDF. The standard 31418 page links family guide 840360800, which says to unplug and cool before cleaning, wash the crumb tray/pan/basket/rack in hot soapy water, wipe the cavity, avoid metal scouring pads and keep the tray in place; treat these as family-guide directions and confirm the manual supplied with the recertified unit. Dishwasher status is not stated.
Sources for this assessment
- Hamilton Beach U.S. toaster-oven category row for the recertified Sure-Crisp R31418
- Hamilton Beach Recertified Sure-Crisp Air Fryer Countertop Toaster Oven exact U.S. page R31418
- Hamilton Beach standard Sure-Crisp Air Fry Countertop Toaster Oven model 31418 page
- Hamilton Beach Use & Care guide 840360800 linked from the standard 31418 page
- Hamilton Beach factory-recertified products FAQ linked from the R31418 page
- Hamilton Beach image served in the exact R31418 product page gallery, 31418-VPA-01.jpg
- Hamilton Beach Air Fry basket part page 990337100 linked from standard 31418 parts list
Choose around the jobs you will actually repeat.
Check pan size, placement clearance and the exact model suffix before deciding.
