Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Is a six-slice toast reference enough for your usual batch?
The exact product title states six-slice capacity. That supports a six-slice minimum but not a seven-slice requirement.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the listed 16.81-inch body width pass a 17-inch maximum?
The exact page lists 16.81 inches wide; allow additional room for placement and handling.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the listed 13.03-inch body depth pass a 13.5-inch maximum?
The body itself is 13.03 inches deep. The plug, open door and operating room add space beyond this figure.
Explore this need in the finder →Is a manufacturer-stated pizza diameter essential?
The exact 31508 page does not publish a pizza-size reference; a six-slice title cannot prove a 9-inch pizza fit.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you need a dedicated Air Fry preset?
The exact page lists Bake, Broil and Toast only; Air Fry is not confirmed for 31508.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you need a separately selectable Convection Bake mode?
The exact page names three functions and does not establish convection for 31508; a shared family manual notes convection only on select models.
Explore this need in the finder →Does six-slice capacity establish a half-cubic-foot cavity?
The manufacturer does not state a cubic-foot capacity for this model. Slice count cannot be converted into a volume.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you need two independently controlled oven zones?
The 31508 is one cavity with one function/timer control set; rack heights are not separate zones.
Explore this need in the finder →The Hamilton Beach 31508 is a straightforward six-slice toaster oven: three dial-selected jobs, a removable crumb tray, and enough listed body size to plan around before you shop for pans. It is an earlier U.S. model, not a current purchase promise. The manufacturer’s exact page labels it “NO LONGER AVAILABLE,” so this review is most useful for identifying a used unit or comparing its simpler layout with current multifunction ovens.
Six slices, but not a published cavity measurement
Hamilton Beach names the 31508 a six-slice-capacity oven and lists its body at 16.81 inches wide, 13.03 inches deep and 8.94 inches high. These outside dimensions help screen a counter, but they do not include room for the plug, an open door, safe handling or the hot pan you will remove. The directly linked Use & Care guide warns against covering the appliance or letting it touch flammable materials and calls for at least one inch between food and a heating element. It does not state a numeric side or overhead clearance.
The exact 31508 page does not publish a cubic-foot capacity, interior measurements or a pizza-diameter fit. A six-slice label is not enough to infer that a large casserole, pan handle or pizza fits. Measure your own cookware against the usable opening, and leave space to retrieve it without brushing the heating elements. If a documented pizza size or large roast is essential, the separately coded 31511 page is more specific: it names a 9-inch pizza, 6-pound chicken and 7-pound roast. Those 31511 examples are not evidence for model 31508.
Three familiar controls, one task at a time
The product page lists Bake, Broil and Toast; it does not advertise Air Fry, a convection mode or digital programs. You choose a function with the middle dial, a temperature with the upper dial and time with the lower timer. The 30-minute timer has automatic shutoff and a ready bell. A Stay On setting is listed for longer cooking, but that is a manual timer choice rather than a meal sensor or a schedule that monitors food for you.
The guide’s rack directions make the simple controls more useful. It places the rack high for toast and broiling, middle for baking or slower broiling, and low for baking larger foods such as a whole chicken. These positions are alternatives within one cavity, not separately controlled shelves. For ordinary toast the guide says to turn the temperature dial to Broil/Toast and use the timer as a shade control; bread count and freshness affect the result. Bake calls for a five-minute preheat. Broil does not need preheating and uses high heat, so the manual warns not to leave the oven unattended in Toast or Broil.
What it does not replace
This is a conventional toaster oven, not a compact air fryer just because it has a rack and pan. The exact function list has no dedicated Air Fry, Dehydrate, Slow Cook, Steam, Grill or Rotisserie program. The shared Type O42 guide includes a note that convection is present only on select models; the 31508 page lists three settings and does not identify this model as one of them. Do not count the broad family manual’s select-model note as proof of a 31508 fan or a Convection Bake setting.
Likewise, one temperature dial and one timer serve the same cavity. The 31508 has no separate toaster slot, paired French doors, app control, food probe or independently timed upper and lower ovens documented in its page or guide. A shopper who needs crisping airflow, a precise 9-inch-pizza reference or two jobs running on separate schedules should choose a model whose own page and manual spell out those capabilities.
Care and used-unit checks
Guide 840176408 names a nonstick oven interior and instructs owners to unplug the oven, let it cool and clean it regularly. Wipe the interior, floor and glass door with a damp soapy cloth, then wipe again with a clean damp cloth; use a plastic scrubber for stubborn marks and avoid metal scouring pads or scratching the element tube. Keep the crumb tray in place during use. The guide gives a one-year limited warranty for the original consumer purchaser in the U.S. or Canada and requires the original sales receipt, so do not assume that a secondhand oven carries remaining coverage.
When looking at an individual 31508, read the full nameplate rather than trusting a seller’s short title, and check that the rack, bake pan and broil grid are present and not warped. The manual type panel lists 31508, 31511, 31512 and 31514 at 120 V, 60 Hz and 1300 W, but a shared electrical panel does not prove that every model code has the same finish, controls or package.
Who should consider it?
The 31508 suits someone who wants basic oven toast, bake and broil functions in a six-slice body and can verify a used unit’s condition and accessories. Its main advantage over more elaborate designs is a simple manual routine, not a verified cooking-speed or energy advantage. Its limitations are just as important: the page gives no cavity volume or pizza size, and it does not establish Air Fry or convection. If those details matter to your meals, or if you need a current warranty-backed purchase, compare a current exact model with published fit data rather than assuming a similar-looking Hamilton Beach suffix is interchangeable.
Key details at a glance
| Toast capacity stated by the manufacturer | 6 slices |
|---|---|
| Named cooking functions | 3 |
| On-oven functions listed by the manufacturer | Bake / Broil / Toast |
| Dedicated Air Fry preset | No |
| Dedicated Dehydrate preset | No |
| Convection fan/control documented | No |
| Slow Cook preset | No |
| App-connected oven control | No |
| Selectable rack positions | 3 |
| Appliance body width | 16.81 in |
| Appliance body depth | 13.03 in |
| Appliance body height | 8.94 in |
| Electrical rating | 1300 W |
| Included wired food-temperature probe with preset doneness control | No |
| French-door opening | No |
| Dedicated dough Proof program | No |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Paper, software and setup details
App-only cooking modes
No app or connected mode is documented in the exact product page or directly linked guide.
Listed supply voltage
The directly linked 840176408 guide’s Type O42 panel lists exact models 31508 and 31511 (along with 31512 and 31514) at 120 V, 60 Hz and 1300 W. This is the shared type-panel evidence, not an inference from a sibling model title.
Manufacturer warranty summary
Use & Care guide 840176408 states a one-year limited warranty for the original consumer purchaser in the U.S. or Canada and requires the original sales receipt. This does not establish remaining coverage for a used unit.
Included cooking pieces
The exact page lists a bake pan and broil grid plus a slide-out crumb tray; the shared guide parts panel calls the rack an Oven Rack. Avoid assuming these words mean two separate racks or that used-unit pieces are present.
Practical care and placement
Unplug and allow the oven to cool. Guide 840176408 recommends regular cleaning: wipe the inside walls, bottom and glass with a damp soapy cloth and then a clean damp cloth; use a plastic scouring pad for stubborn stains, avoid metal scouring pads and do not scratch the element tube. Use with the crumb tray in place. Dishwasher-safe status is not stated.
Sources for this assessment
- Hamilton Beach official U.S. Toaster Ovens Product Archive snapshot
- Hamilton Beach U.S. 6-Slice Toaster Ovens category snapshot
- Hamilton Beach Use & Care guide 840176408 directly linked from exact 31508/31511 pages
- Hamilton Beach exact U.S. product page, model 31508
- Hamilton Beach exact 31508 page-served product image
Choose around the jobs you will actually repeat.
Check pan size, placement clearance and the exact model suffix before deciding.
