Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Is a dedicated Air Fry setting important for small portions in a four-slice oven?
The exact 31403 page names Air Fry as one of four modes. Its manual directs an uncrowded single basket layer and a pan below for drips; it does not substantiate a large batch capacity.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the 14.9-inch body fit within a 15-inch counter-width limit?
The exact base-model page lists 14.9 inches of body width, below a 15-inch body maximum; the plug and safe placement need additional room.
Explore this need in the finder →Will the listed 9-inch pizza fit reference meet your minimum pizza size?
The manufacturer gives a 9-inch pizza as a separate fit example. It does not document a 10-inch pizza or promise handle clearance.
Explore this need in the finder →Is a four-slice toast reference enough, or is a larger simultaneous bread fit essential?
The exact page says four slices. That known reference cannot meet a five-slice minimum.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you need a separate Convection Bake control in addition to the 31403 Air Fry fan?
No separate Convection Bake selector appears in the exact four-mode list or guide; Air Fry circulation is not a distinct bake program.
Explore this need in the finder →Is an upright lever-operated toast slot essential rather than a flatbed oven Toast mode?
The 31403 uses its oven cavity for Toast. A separate upright slot toaster is not documented.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the 9-inch pizza example prove at least 0.5 cubic foot of cavity volume?
No cubic-foot volume is published; a pizza-diameter reference cannot establish an essential volume threshold.
Explore this need in the finder →Would the listed 11.5-inch body depth pass a 12-inch limit, before countertop clearance?
The exact page lists 11.5 inches of body depth. This is not the complete operating depth including plug, door access or placement space.
Explore this need in the finder →The Hamilton Beach 31403 is a compact Sure-Crisp toaster oven with Air Fry, Bake, Broil and Toast controls. The manufacturer lists a four-slice fit and a 9-inch-pizza example, so think small batches rather than a full-size oven replacement. The October 24, 2026 capture of Hamilton Beach's current Small Toaster Ovens category omits the base 31403 while listing 31403J and 31403G; the exact base page does not state its stock status. Treat present availability as unconfirmed, not as proof that another suffix is the same purchase.
Keep the base model separate
This review is for model 31403, with no letter after the number. Hamilton Beach's exact page calls it a stainless-steel, four-slice Sure-Crisp oven and lists a metal Air Fry basket, bake pan, broil rack and slide-out crumb tray. That page links Use & Care guide 840344502. Although the PDF title names 31404, its electrical panel explicitly lists 31403 and 31404, Type O89, 120 volts, 60 hertz and 1120 watts. The exact 31403 page also lists 1120 watts. Those two records support the base model's rating; they do not settle the separate 31403J page's different wattage claim.
Fit examples, not a measured cavity
The listed body is 14.9 inches wide, 11.5 deep and 8.7 high. That is not a safe-placement envelope: allow room for the plug, door, hot pans and handling. The guide warns against flammable contact, covering the oven or storing items on top during use, and calls for at least one inch between food and a heating element. It does not give a numeric countertop side or overhead clearance.
Hamilton Beach separately lists four toast slices, a 9-inch pizza, an 8-by-8-inch pan, a 9-by-5-inch loaf pan and a 3-pound chicken in an 8-by-8-inch pan. These are useful fit checks, not simultaneous loads or interior measurements. The maker publishes no cubic-foot volume here. If you regularly cook a larger pizza or use a broad family pan, choose a model with a documented fit that clears your actual cookware; don't extrapolate from the slice count.
Air Fry needs an uncrowded layer
For Air Fry, the guide says to spread food in one even layer in the basket, put the pan below to catch drips, and keep food at least an inch from an element. Thick pieces may need turning or stirring. Wet batter and sauce are unsuitable, and lining the mesh basket with foil or parchment blocks airflow. This is a hands-on small-portion routine, not a promise that the basket can hold a full family meal in one batch.
The product has four named functions. The page describes forced-air circulation within Air Fry, but does not list a separately selected Convection Bake program. A requirement for an oven-style convection-bake setting should therefore rule this model out. The manufacturer also publishes no basket volume or tested meal yield; if your usual portions cannot be spread without crowding, a larger air-fry oven or a separate basket fryer is a better fit.
Manual controls suit simple jobs
The three-dial setup changes by task. Bake calls for a five-minute preheat and uses the temperature control; Broil runs at high, non-adjustable heat and should not be preheated. Toast uses the timer as a shade control, and the guide notes that bread quantity and freshness affect browning. The 30-minute timer has a ready bell and automatic shutoff; a Stay On setting is also available for longer cooking. The guide describes a press-and-hold action for Stay On, so it is not a digital preset that manages a whole meal for you.
Why the suffix matters
Hamilton Beach has separate U.S. pages for 31403, 31403G and 31403J, despite reusing the 31403-02 image URL. The base 31403 page and its directly linked guide agree on 1120 watts; the distinct J page's claim differs, so don't transfer its value or status to the base. The G model is also a separate code, even where its image or manual overlaps. If buying a used base 31403, read the full nameplate and confirm the basket, pan and rack are present. A current listing under another suffix is not proof of identical contents, condition or fit.
Care and fit for your routine
After unplugging and cooling the oven, the guide says to hand-wash the crumb tray, basket, pan and rack in hot soapy water, then wipe the interior, bottom and glass with a damp cloth. It allows a plastic scrubber for stubborn interior marks, prohibits metal scouring pads and warns against scratching the element tube. Dishwasher-safe status is not stated. Generic parts listings do not prove that a replacement fits every 31403 suffix.
This is a reasonable reference for someone who values a small manual oven that can toast, bake, broil and air-fry modest portions. The tradeoffs are four-slice/9-inch-pizza scale, one shared cavity, a single-layer Air Fry routine and uncertain present availability for the unsuffixed code. It will not satisfy an essential need for Dehydrate, separate Convection Bake, an upright slot toaster, app control, a probe, two independently timed ovens or a confirmed minimum cavity volume. Compare exact pages and manuals for alternatives; if this base model is offered secondhand, inspect the suffix and included accessories rather than shopping from a similar photo.
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences. No app-only mode or app-control procedure is documented on the exact page or directly linked Use & Care guide; do not infer remote features from the Air Fry name. The exact 31403 page lists 1120 watts and its current HTML directly links guide 840344502. The guide PDF's metadata title names 31404, but the electrical panel explicitly lists models 31403 and 31404, Type O89, 120 V, 60 Hz and 1120 W; its suffix note says letters may follow a model. The page and linked panel agree for the unsuffixed base 31403. Do not transfer the distinct 31403J page's conflicting wattage statement to this base model. The directly linked Use & Care guide states a one-year limited warranty for original purchasers in the U.S.; its terms require proof of purchase and do not establish coverage for a used unit. The exact 31403 page lists a metal Air Fry basket, bake pan, broil rack and slide-out crumb tray. The directly linked guide's parts panel names an oven rack, Baking/Broiling Pan, Air Frying Basket and slide-out crumb tray. This wording does not establish that two separate racks are supplied. The exact small-category row was out of stock on the check date; generic parts listings do not establish host fit for every suffix. Unplug and cool fully. The directly linked guide says to wash the slide-out crumb tray, Baking/Broiling Pan, Air Frying Basket and Oven Rack in hot soapy water, rinse and dry; wipe interior walls, bottom and glass with a damp soapy cloth, followed by a clean damp cloth. A plastic scouring pad is allowed for stubborn interior stains; metal scouring pads are prohibited and the element tube should not be scratched. Dishwasher-safe status is not stated.Key details at a glance
Toast capacity stated by the manufacturer 4 slices Nominal pizza size 9 in Named cooking functions 4 On-oven functions listed by the manufacturer Air Fry / Bake / Broil / Toast Dedicated Air Fry preset Yes Dedicated Dehydrate preset No Convection fan/control documented No Slow Cook preset No App-connected oven control No Selectable rack positions 2 Appliance body width 14.9 in Appliance body depth 11.5 in Appliance body height 8.7 in Electrical rating 1120 W Included wired food-temperature probe with preset doneness control No French-door opening No Dedicated dough Proof program No Paper, software and setup details
App-only cooking modes
Listed supply voltage
Manufacturer warranty summary
Included cooking pieces
Practical care and placement
Sources for this assessment
Choose around the jobs you will actually repeat.
Check pan size, placement clearance and the exact model suffix before deciding.
