Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Do you need both a dedicated Air Fry program and a separately named Convection setting in a wide, single-cavity oven?
Yes. The exact 31390 page lists both Air Fry and Convection Bake; its one cavity still runs a shared program, not two schedules at once.
Explore this need in the finder →Will a 21-inch appliance body fit your available counter width?
A 21-inch body-width cap admits the published 31390 width; a 20-inch cap does not. This is body width, not safe placement clearance.
Explore this need in the finder →Do two racks or four rack positions count as separately timed cooking zones?
No. The manual explains two-rack cooking with a single Bake cycle and switching foods after about 65% of the cooking time; it does not document independent controls.
Explore this need in the finder →Can the 31390 meet a requirement for a dedicated Toast setting or upright bread slot?
No. Toast is not among the exact six named modes; the manual recommends Broil for bread. No lever-operated slot is documented.
Explore this need in the finder →The Hamilton Beach Sure-Crisp XL Digital Air Fryer Oven (31390) is built around a bigger flatbed cavity, not a small countertop toaster footprint. Its exact product page lists a 21-inch width, 16.3-inch depth and 13.2-inch height, plus a whole 5-pound chicken, two 12-inch pizzas, two pounds of fries or two 9-by-13-inch pans without handles as separate capacity examples. Measure your counter before deciding; the body is larger than many toaster ovens.
Six named jobs, with Air Fry and convection kept distinct
The digital function dial offers Air Fry, Bake, Convection Bake, Broil, Roast and Keep Warm. Air Fry and Convection Bake are separate settings. The manual says Convection activates a fan for faster circulation, suggesting a 15 percent time reduction or 25°F lower temperature than Bake. Air Fry has its own range and basket setup. Broil runs at High; Keep Warm is for already-cooked food and is limited to two hours.
The headline 150–450°F range needs context. The manual's mode chart gives Air Fry, Bake and Convection a 200–450°F range; Warm is adjustable from 150–225°F, and Broil is High only. It has a Stay On option for several modes, but the oven still shares one cavity, one function selection and one temperature/time routine. Six modes are options for successive jobs, not six independent compartments.
Large cavity, but a two-rack cook still needs attention
Hamilton Beach lists four rack positions and includes two oven racks. Its guide describes using two racks at positions 2 and 4 for two foods in a Bake session, then switching the foods after about 65 percent of the selected cook time. That is a practical way to load two levels, but it is not an independently controlled upper and lower oven: both dishes share the same setting and timer, and the swap is part of the work. The 9-by-13 pan examples are specified without handles. Check your actual pan rims, handles, height and door path; the size claims do not tell you that every dish will clear the cavity or fit in every rack arrangement.
For Air Fry, the included mesh basket and enamel bake/broil/drip pan make a more specific routine. The manual calls for a single, even layer rather than piling food in the basket, at least an inch between food and an element, and the pan under the basket for juicy or fatty foods. It says thicker foods may need flipping or stirring. Preheating is available in Air Fry, Bake, Convection and Roast; for Air Fry, the guide recommends about ten minutes before adding food to shorten the cycle and improve crispness. The product page advertises a one-pound frozen-fries example under 15 minutes, while the manual's table gives 14–18 minutes at 450°F. Treat that as a recipe starting point, not a guaranteed result for every food, load, or kitchen.
It can toast bread, but there is no Toast preset
The exact six-mode list does not include Toast. The manual instead recommends Broil for bread, with the slice near the upper element and frequent checks; it notes that bread may need to be flipped to brown the other side. That is a workable oven task, but not the convenience of a dedicated Toast setting, shade control, or lever-operated slot. The 31390 has no separate slot toaster. If a normal Toast cycle is essential, the narrower 31220 names Toast and lists six slices. For a lever slot, consider the 31156J, which lists a 9-inch pizza.
Counter space, accessories and care
At 21 by 16.3 inches in body dimensions, this oven occupies a substantial rectangle before allowing for the plug, hot-pan landing space or placement clearances. The guide warns against placing the unit against or near flammable materials, leaving anything on top while it operates, or covering the crumb tray. It also requires at least an inch between food and an element. Those figures are not an installation-clearance envelope; consult the guide and your counter layout.
The manufacturer lists five included pieces: a chrome-plated mesh Air Fry basket, an enamel pan, two removable oven racks and a removable crumb tray. The use-and-care guide says to hand-wash the basket, racks, pan and crumb tray in hot soapy water, rinse and dry; wipe the cooled interior and exterior, and avoid scratching the heating tube. Dishwasher safety is not stated in the reviewed guide. An 1800-watt rating appears on the type panel, and the manual cautions against sharing the circuit with another high-wattage appliance. The same booklet lists a one-year U.S. limited warranty. Its listed rating label identifies 31390/type O94 at 120 V, 60 Hz, 1800 W.
Who should keep it on the list?
Keep 31390 in view if you need a wide, multi-rack oven with both dedicated Air Fry and convection settings, use large cookware, and have counter space for its 21-inch body. The four rack positions and two included racks let you adapt placement, but they do not remove the need to manage a shared timer or rotate food. Choose the 31220 instead when a narrower 15.1-inch body, a named Toast function and Dehydrate matter more than the 31390's larger listed examples. Consider the manual-dial 31466J if its six named functions and 18.8-inch width better suit your space, but that model's guide does not list a separate Convection setting. For genuinely different temperatures or finish times at once, look for a documented independently zoned model; a multi-rack cavity is not a substitute.
This assessment uses the exact Hamilton Beach 31390 page and its linked Use & Care guide. Manufacturer capacity and time claims are not independent lab measurements, and no hands-on performance, durability or ownership claim is made.
Key details at a glance
| Nominal pizza size | 12 in |
|---|---|
| Named cooking functions | 6 |
| On-oven functions listed by the manufacturer | Air Fry / Bake / Convection Bake / Broil / Roast / Keep Warm |
| Dedicated Air Fry preset | Yes |
| Dedicated Dehydrate preset | No |
| Convection fan/control documented | Yes |
| Slow Cook preset | No |
| App-connected oven control | No |
| Selectable rack positions | 4 |
| Appliance body width | 21 in |
| Appliance body depth | 16.3 in |
| Appliance body height | 13.2 in |
| Electrical rating | 1800 W |
| Included wired food-temperature probe with preset doneness control | No |
| French-door opening | No |
| Dedicated dough Proof program | No |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Paper, software and setup details
App-only cooking modes
None documented on the exact page or linked manual.
Listed supply voltage
The exact linked Use & Care guide rating-label panel identifies model 31390/type O94 at 120 V ~ 60 Hz, 1800 W. The guide warns against using another high-wattage appliance on the same circuit.
Manufacturer warranty summary
The exact linked guide states a one-year limited warranty for products purchased and used in the U.S. (five years in Canada); coverage of any used, returned or replacement unit is not established.
Included cooking pieces
The exact product page lists five included items: a chrome-plated mesh Air Fry basket, enamel bake pan, two removable oven racks and a removable crumb tray. The manual labels the pan as a bake/broil/drip tray. Separate related part pages do not establish replacement-part compatibility.
Practical care and placement
Unplug and let the oven cool. The linked guide instructs washing the Air Fry mesh basket, oven racks, slide-out crumb tray and pan in hot soapy water, rinsing and drying; wipe the cavity and controls carefully and do not scratch the heating tube. Dishwasher safety is not stated in the reviewed guide.
Sources for this assessment
Choose around the jobs you will actually repeat.
Check pan size, placement clearance and the exact model suffix before deciding.
