Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Can a 17-inch-wide compact oven provide Air Fry and a documented convection fan?
Yes. The exact 31241 page lists a 17-inch body, names the Air Fry setting and explicitly describes a convection fan. It does not offer a separate Convection Bake setting.
Explore this need in the finder →Will the 31241 fit if my strict body-width limit is 16 inches?
No. The exact page lists a 17-inch body width. That does not include room for the plug or safe handling.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the 31241 meet a required 0.5-cu-ft minimum capacity?
The manufacturer does not state cubic-foot cavity volume for this model, so its separate four-slice, 10-inch-pizza and 9-by-9-inch-pan examples cannot satisfy a hard cubic-foot minimum.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the 31241 qualify if I require a stainless-steel cooking interior?
No. The exact page describes a nonstick-coated interior; stainless steel describes the exterior.
Explore this need in the finder →The Hamilton Beach Professional Sure-Crisp Air Fry Digital Toaster Oven, model 31241, is a compact flatbed oven with six named settings: Air Fry, Bake, Broil, Toast, Bagel and Keep Warm. Its useful distinction is the combination of a four-slice footprint, digital controls and an air-fry basket in one appliance. The exact-model page and its linked Use & Care guide describe its limits and operating choices.
Size is defined by separate fit examples
Hamilton Beach lists a 17-inch body width, 14.5-inch depth and 9.1-inch height. It separately says the cavity fits four bread slices, a 10-inch pizza or a 9-by-9-inch baking pan. These are reference examples, not a promise that every pan, handle or arrangement will clear the opening. No cubic-foot interior volume is stated, so a questionnaire requiring a known minimum cavity volume should not treat the four-slice claim as a substitute.
Although the body is in the compact-width group used by this guide, it is not a narrow mini toaster: leave room for the plug and for handling the hot door and pan. The manual prohibits placing the oven against flammable material or storing anything on top while it operates; it also asks for at least an inch between food and an element. It does not supply a numerical countertop side-clearance figure in the reviewed instructions. Measure the available counter rather than using the body dimensions as the full installed footprint.
Digital controls add modes, not another cavity
A front dial chooses one of the six modes, while the LCD and buttons set temperature, toast shade, slice count and time. Air Fry, Bake and Keep Warm display temperature and time; Toast and Bagel display shade and slice count. The guide offers seven browning shades and a one-to-four-slice toast selection. It remains a single cooking space with two rack positions, not simultaneous cooking zones.
Mode choice changes the actual routine. Air Fry adjusts from 300 to 450°F and has a one-hour timer. Bake ranges from 200 to 450°F and can be timed up to two hours. Keep Warm can be set from 150 to 200°F for up to two hours. Broil runs at high rather than a user-selected temperature, with a maximum 30-minute timer. Toast and Bagel use the upper rack position; for toast, the control can select one through four slices. The exact page also documents a convection fan, but it does not list a separate Convection Bake setting. If you need a named convection-bake program rather than fan-assisted Air Fry, this model is not confirmed to provide that separate control.
Air Fry is for a single layer and a smaller batch
The basket sits on the bake/broil pan on the oven rack, catching drips. Hamilton Beach recommends a single layer, turning thicker pieces when needed, preheating for shorter cook times and crispness, and leaving at least an inch from the elements. Do not line the basket; the guide says that can block airflow. The maker cautions that Air Fry may take longer than a standalone air fryer. Its examples include four burgers or a modest amount of fries, not independent performance measurements.
This can suit someone who wants occasional crisping alongside toast, bagels and small bakes, and who is willing to work in a restrained layer. It is less convincing as the only solution for crowded family-size batches: filling the basket deeply works against the manual’s airflow and single-layer advice. For larger portions, compare a broader six-slice model or a dedicated basket-style fryer instead of assuming “air fryer” means the same useful batch size.
Where it differs from other compact Hamilton Beach ovens
The 31241 is a useful middle choice between simpler manual-dial ovens and larger digital models. For example, the 31403J is a four-mode, three-dial Sure-Crisp model; its page gives a smaller 9-inch pizza example and its wattage remains disputed against its linked manual. The 31241 adds digital shade/time display, Bagel and Keep Warm modes, and has a manufacturer-listed 10-inch pizza example, but its 17-inch width is greater than the 31403J’s listed 14.9 inches. Choose between them by controls and measured counter space, not by assuming they have identical capacities because both are four-slice ovens.
It is also a different purchase from the recertified R31418. The standard 31241 page lists a three-year U.S. limited warranty and shows the ordinary model code; it is not the factory-recertified R listing. The separate R31418 page has a shorter recertified warranty and a conflicting printed width, so do not transfer its condition, dimensions or terms to this standard 31241. If you need the R listing specifically, filter for that condition and reassess its separate facts.
Care, warranty and who should keep looking
The listed kit consists of a mesh Air Fry basket, bake/broil pan, broil rack, removable oven rack and slide-out crumb/drip tray. After unplugging and cooling, the guide says to hand-wash removable pieces in hot soapy water and wipe the interior with a damp soapy cloth. It warns against metal scouring pads and scratching the element tube. Keep the crumb tray in place; do not cover it with foil. The cooking interior is nonstick-coated, not stainless steel.
The manufacturer lists 1500 watts and a 120-volt, 60-Hz electrical rating for model 31241, type O79; the exact guide states a three-year limited warranty for original U.S. purchases, subject to its terms. Keep Warm and automatic shutoff are useful named behaviors, but the oven should not be left unattended. It is a reasonable fit if your essential needs are a compact four-slice toaster oven, a modest pizza/pan reference, dedicated Air Fry and digital Bagel/Keep Warm options. Keep looking if you need a verified cavity-volume minimum, a stainless-steel interior, Dehydrate, an included probe, separate convection baking, two independent zones or a larger air-fry batch. Its digital controls do not remove the need to watch browning, arrange food in a single layer and adjust cooking time to the food.
Key details at a glance
| Toast capacity stated by the manufacturer | 4 slices |
|---|---|
| Nominal pizza size | 10 in |
| Named cooking functions | 6 |
| On-oven functions listed by the manufacturer | Air Fry / Bake / Broil / Toast / Bagel / Keep Warm |
| Dedicated Air Fry preset | Yes |
| Dedicated Dehydrate preset | No |
| Convection fan/control documented | Yes |
| Slow Cook preset | No |
| App-connected oven control | No |
| Selectable rack positions | 2 |
| Appliance body width | 17 in |
| Appliance body depth | 14.5 in |
| Appliance body height | 9.1 in |
| Electrical rating | 1500 W |
| Factory-recertified listing | No |
| Included wired food-temperature probe with preset doneness control | No |
| French-door opening | No |
| Dedicated dough Proof program | No |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Paper, software and setup details
App-only cooking modes
None documented on the exact U.S. product page or its directly linked Use & Care guide.
Listed supply voltage
The exact page lists 1500 W. Directly linked guide 840333601 names model 31241, type O79, at 120 V, 60 Hz and 1500 W, so the page and type panel agree.
Manufacturer warranty summary
The exact product page and directly linked Use & Care guide state a three-year limited warranty for original U.S. purchases, subject to the guide's terms and proof-of-purchase requirements.
Included cooking pieces
The exact 31241 page and linked guide list five pieces: mesh Air Fry basket, bake/broil pan, broil rack, removable oven rack and slide-out crumb/drip tray. These are the listed kit contents; separately sold replacement-part links do not independently establish future availability or replacement fit.
Practical care and placement
Unplug and cool fully before cleaning. The guide says to wash the Air Fry basket, oven rack, crumb/drip tray, bake/broil pan and broil rack in hot soapy water, rinse and dry; wipe the interior with a damp soapy cloth. Avoid metal scouring pads and scratching the heating element tube. Keep the crumb tray installed and do not cover it with foil. The maker does not state dishwasher-safe status for the pieces.
Sources for this assessment
- Hamilton Beach U.S. toaster-oven category card for Professional Sure-Crisp Air Fry Digital Toaster Oven 31241
- Hamilton Beach Professional Sure-Crisp Air Fry Digital Toaster Oven exact U.S. model 31241
- Hamilton Beach Use & Care guide 840333601 linked directly from the exact 31241 product page
- Hamilton Beach product image embedded in the exact 31241 page
Choose around the jobs you will actually repeat.
Check pan size, placement clearance and the exact model suffix before deciding.
