Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Could an earlier oven give me a built-in food probe and convection baking?
Yes, if you explicitly allow earlier models: 31240 has the probe and selectable Convection. The probe works only in Bake or Convection, not in every mode.
Explore this need in the finder →Is a dedicated Air Fry mode essential along with a probe?
If both are essential, 31240 does not fit. Its exact seven-setting list includes Convection but no Air Fry; the 31241 is a different probe-free configuration.
Explore this need in the finder →Do I need six-slice toast rather than a smaller stated toast capacity?
The exact 31240 guide and page support a 1–6 slice toast/bagel selector. That does not establish a specific loaf size or simultaneous pan fit.
Explore this need in the finder →Will a 12-inch pizza example satisfy a hard 13-inch pizza minimum?
No. Hamilton Beach lists a 12-inch pizza fit example. A stated example does not prove a larger pizza will clear the door or heating elements.
Explore this need in the finder →Do I require a known cavity volume rather than separate food-fit examples?
If a cubic-foot minimum is essential, 31240 cannot qualify from the reviewed manufacturer sources: its volume is not published, and the pizza/chicken/toast examples cannot replace a numerical measurement.
Explore this need in the finder →Do I have a strict counter width limit that needs a verified body measurement?
The exact page and guide do not publish body width, depth or height. A hard maximum-width requirement must remain unverified rather than inferred from the photograph.
Explore this need in the finder →Do I need a stainless-steel cooking interior or independently controlled zones?
No: the page describes a nonstick cooking interior and stainless exterior. Three rack positions remain in one cavity and do not create separate cooking zones.
Explore this need in the finder →Is a stainless-steel cooking interior essential for this oven?
No for model 31240: the exact page describes a nonstick interior and stainless-steel exterior. The outside finish does not establish a stainless cooking liner.
Explore this need in the finder →The Hamilton Beach Professional Digital Countertop Oven, model 31240, is a flatbed oven whose distinctive feature is an included temperature probe, not an air-fry system. It has seven named cooking settings, a digital display and a manufacturer-listed six-slice toast capacity. Hamilton Beach now labels the 31240 page “No Longer Available,” so this is an earlier-model review rather than a current-stock promise. Its model page and directly linked Use & Care guide describe a useful combination for someone comparing a specific 31240: probe-guided baking or convection, plus ordinary toast, bagel, bake and broil jobs.
The probe is useful, with a clear mode limit
The oven’s dial selects Convection, Bake, Broil, Keep Warm, Reheat, Toast or Bagel. For a roast or chicken where internal temperature matters, the probe plugs into the control panel and tracks food temperature while the oven displays both the selected oven setting and probe target. The manual limits probe operation to Bake and Convection; it does not operate during Broil, Toast, Bagel, Reheat or Keep Warm. When the selected probe temperature is reached, the oven chimes and shuts off.
That is a more specific workflow than simply owning a removable thermometer: you can monitor the internal target without repeatedly opening the door, but you must use one of two compatible modes. The guide allows a probe setting from 100°F to 200°F. Convection and Bake cavity temperatures are separately adjustable from 200°F to 450°F. For convection baking, Hamilton Beach advises reducing recipe temperature by 25°F or shortening the time. The manual also warns not to run the oven unattended, so automatic shutoff is a convenience, not a reason to leave it cooking unsupervised.
Capacity examples are not a measured cavity volume
The manufacturer says the 31240 fits six slices of bread, a 12-inch pizza or a whole chicken; its guide specifies a chicken up to five pounds and most 13-by-9-inch pans without handles. These are separate fit examples, not a guarantee that every pan or handle clears the opening, and they do not establish cubic-foot capacity. Neither the exact product page nor the linked manual publishes the oven’s external width, depth or height. If your counter has a hard dimension limit, do not estimate from the staged product image or the word “compact.” You need the actual unit’s measurements and room for its plug, hot door and ventilation.
For toast and bagels, the display offers seven browning shades and a slice setting adjustable from one to six. Bagel mode browns the cut face while warming the rounded side; both modes use the middle rack. Bake and Convection have a timer up to two hours, while high Broil is timed up to 30 minutes. Keep Warm and Reheat add useful hold-and-refresh options, but they remain alternative settings in one cavity, not separately timed zones.
What it does not do matters
There is no named Air Fry, Dehydrate, Proof, Slow Cook, Rotisserie or steam-cooking program in the model’s seven-setting list or its manual. The convection fan does not turn every convection oven into an Air Fry oven. If crisping with a dedicated Air Fry control is essential, compare the more recent Hamilton Beach 31241: its reviewed configuration has an Air Fry mode but no included probe, and its manufacturer-listed four-slice/10-inch-pizza examples are smaller than the 31240’s six-slice/12-inch examples. Choose by the function you will actually use rather than the shared “Professional” label.
The 31240’s interior is described as nonstick-coated, while the exterior is stainless steel. It includes an oven rack, baking pan with broil rack, slide-out crumb/drip tray and removable temperature probe with a storage tray. The guide calls for unplugging and cooling the unit before cleaning, hand-washing the removable pans and racks, and wiping the cavity with a damp soapy cloth. It advises against metal scouring pads and scratching the heating element. Dishwasher-safe status is not stated in the reviewed guide.
Electrical needs and earlier-model cautions
The guide’s type panel identifies model 31240, Type O73, at 120 volts, 60 Hz and 1500 watts. It warns against using another high-wattage appliance on the same circuit. The manual also requires at least one inch between food and the heating elements, but gives no numerical countertop-side clearance. The published U.S. warranty is three years from original purchase; a used listing does not establish that any coverage remains. Because Hamilton Beach marks this model no longer available, check the model/type label and condition of any particular unit rather than assuming a listing includes all pictured pieces or has current factory support.
The 31240 makes the most sense as an earlier option when the probe matters more than an Air Fry preset and the physical counter fit can be verified. It is a poor match if you need a known cavity volume or body dimensions, a dedicated Air Fry cycle, two independent cooking schedules, or a currently available model with fresh warranty coverage. For current buying, compare probe-free alternatives such as the 31241 only if their smaller stated fit examples and different mode set suit your routine. The 31240’s practical edge is precise probe-assisted Bake or Convection; its limits are the mode restriction, unknown external footprint and discontinued status.
Key details at a glance
| Toast capacity stated by the manufacturer | 6 slices |
|---|---|
| Nominal pizza size | 12 in |
| Named cooking functions | 7 |
| On-oven functions listed by the manufacturer | Convection / Bake / Broil / Keep Warm / Reheat / Toast / Bagel |
| Dedicated Air Fry preset | No |
| Dedicated Dehydrate preset | No |
| Convection fan/control documented | Yes |
| Slow Cook preset | No |
| App-connected oven control | No |
| Selectable rack positions | 3 |
| Electrical rating | 1500 W |
| Factory-recertified listing | No |
| Included wired food-temperature probe with preset doneness control | Yes |
| French-door opening | No |
| Dedicated dough Proof program | No |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Paper, software and setup details
App-only cooking modes
None documented in the exact product page or directly linked guide.
Listed supply voltage
The directly linked 840289602 Type O73 panel identifies 120 V, 60 Hz and 1500 W. The manual cautions against sharing the circuit with another high-wattage appliance.
Manufacturer warranty summary
The product page and U.S. guide state a three-year limited warranty from original purchase, subject to the guide terms; this does not establish remaining coverage on a used unit.
Included cooking pieces
Exact page/guide list the oven rack, bake pan with nesting broil rack, removable probe and probe storage drawer, plus an external-access removable crumb/drip tray. Verify that any used listing actually includes the pieces needed.
Practical care and placement
Unplug and allow the oven to cool before cleaning. The guide directs hand-washing removable pans/racks and wiping the cavity with a damp soapy cloth; it cautions against metal scouring pads and scratching the heating element. Keep the crumb tray in place and do not cover it with foil. Dishwasher-safe status is not stated in the reviewed guide.
Sources for this assessment
- Hamilton Beach U.S. Product Archive row for Professional Digital Countertop Oven 31240
- Hamilton Beach Professional Digital Countertop Oven 31240 exact product page
- Hamilton Beach 31240 directly linked Use & Care guide 840289602
- Hamilton Beach original 31240 product image
- Hamilton Beach recall information page checked for model/type context
Choose around the jobs you will actually repeat.
Check pan size, placement clearance and the exact model suffix before deciding.
