Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Can I get Air Fry, separate Convection and Dehydrate programs in the same oven?
Yes. The product page names all three among its six cooking functions; they are selected individually in one shared cavity rather than run as separate zones at once.
Explore this need in the finder →Will the 15.1-inch-wide oven body fit a 15.5-inch limit, and what changes at 15 inches?
The listed body is 15.1 inches wide, so a 15.5-inch body-only ceiling accepts it; a strict 15-inch ceiling does not. Allow additional clearance and working space.
Explore this need in the finder →Do the two rack positions provide independently timed upper and lower ovens?
No. The manual depicts one cavity and one control panel; rack positions change food placement, not the program, temperature or schedule independently.
Explore this need in the finder →The Hamilton Beach Digital Air Fryer Toaster Oven (31220) is a compact, digital-control countertop oven whose most useful distinction is the combination of three separate modes: Air Fry, Convection and Dehydrate. Its product page also lists ordinary Bake, Broil and Toast, plus four food-specific Air Fry presets. If you want those different routines without moving to a wider countertop oven, 31220 deserves a closer look. It is still one oven cavity with one selected program at a time—not a pair of independently scheduled cooking zones.
Ten ways means six functions plus four Air Fry presets
Hamilton Beach calls this a ten-way oven. The six named cooking functions are Bake, Broil, Toast, Air Fry, Dehydrate and Convection; the other four choices are presets for chicken, fries, steak and seafood. Those presets are convenient starting points on the digital panel, not four extra cooking chambers or a guarantee that every load uses the preset temperature and timing perfectly. The manual allows preset time and temperature adjustments. It also says the oven remembers the last function adjustments, which may help repeated sessions but makes it worth checking the display before pressing Start.
Convection and Air Fry should not be treated as synonyms. The product page names both separately. Choose based on whether your routine calls for the oven-style convection function, the dedicated Air Fry mode and basket, or the lower-temperature Dehydrate cycle. The available temperature and time ranges differ by function: the manual lists Bake/Convection from 150°F to 450°F, Air Fry through 450°F, and Dehydrate from 100°F to 165°F with a cycle lasting as long as 24 hours. The functions are alternatives for a cooking session, not simultaneous operations.
A narrow body, but measure the whole counter setup
The product page lists 15.1 inches wide, 15.4 inches deep and 12.71 inches high. That body width is notably less than the 18.8-inch width published for Hamilton Beach’s 31188J and 31466J dual-level ovens, but the depth is still more than 15 inches. Check the oven's full footprint against your available counter, outlet location, cabinet edge and room to put down hot cookware. The manual's one-inch rule is the gap between food and the heating elements; it is not a stated safe clearance around the outside of the appliance.
Hamilton Beach gives useful, separate capacity references: a 12-inch pizza, six slices of toast and up to three pounds of chicken wings. The manual's toast setting is adjustable from one to six slices, with four as the default. Its FAQ separately mentions up to three-and-a-half pounds of chicken pieces. Wings and chicken pieces are not identical loading instructions, so do not combine the examples into one maximum meal size. Neither source states cavity volume in cubic feet, and the product-page examples do not prove that any pan with a 12-inch label—or a handle—will fit. Measure cookware that matters to you.
Rack positions help placement, not independent scheduling
The manual identifies upper and lower rack positions and the front product image shows the single drop-down door and one digital control panel. Air Fry requires the mesh basket to sit on the bake/broil pan so drips are caught below. The rack placement changes with the chosen function; for air frying and dehydrating the guide directs the rack to the marked upper position. The oven therefore offers some placement flexibility but not separate top and bottom temperatures, timers or modes. If two dishes must finish on different schedules, a real dual-zone design is a more relevant direction than a two-position rack oven.
Timer behavior and cleanup deserve more attention than the preset count
The product-page feature list broadly says digital timer and auto shutoff. The manual gives a more important operating qualification: Bake, Air Fry and Dehydrate are designed to work like a traditional oven, and the timer reaching zero does not itself switch off their heating elements. Press the control knob to stop them. That difference matters if you choose a long Dehydrate cycle or simply expect a countdown to end every program automatically. Toast and Broil have automatic shutoff behavior in the guide; follow each mode's instructions and do not leave the appliance unattended.
The manual calls the cavity nonstick-coated. It asks you to unplug and cool the oven before cleaning, wash the rack, bake/broil pan, Air Fry basket and crumb tray in hot soapy water, then wipe the interior with a damp soapy cloth. It warns against metal scouring pads and scratching the heating tube. Dishwasher suitability is not stated in the reviewed guide, so do not assume the removable metal pieces are dishwasher-safe. At 1800 watts and 120 volts, this is also a substantial countertop heater; the manual cautions against operating another high-wattage appliance on the same circuit.
Who should choose it—and who should compare another model?
The 31220 is a better match for someone whose wish list specifically includes Air Fry, Convection and Dehydrate in a narrower-width body. It is less compelling if all you need is a simple toast-and-bake toaster oven, or if your essential needs are a named Proof cycle, a food probe, app control, a grill surface, French doors or independently controlled zones; those features are not documented for this model. Hamilton Beach's 31188J adds Proof but is wider and still uses one shared cavity. The 31466J offers manual dials and dual-level access but does not document a separate Convection or Dehydrate mode. For independent schedules, compare actual two-zone ovens instead.
This is a source-based assessment, not a cooking test. It reports no measured toast color, temperature accuracy, crispness, noise, speed or reliability. Check the exact 31220 product page and its linked Use & Care guide for current details, placement and availability before buying. The manufacturer page listed state shipping restrictions when checked, so confirm delivery to your address. No particular seller, price, stock status, recall result or warranty coverage for a specific unit is implied.
Key details at a glance
| Toast capacity stated by the manufacturer | 6 slices |
|---|---|
| Nominal pizza size | 12 in |
| Named cooking functions | 10 |
| On-oven functions listed by the manufacturer | Bake / Broil / Toast / Air Fry / Dehydrate / Convection / Air Fry preset: Chicken / Air Fry preset: Fries / Air Fry preset: Steak / Air Fry preset: Seafood |
| Dedicated Air Fry preset | Yes |
| Dedicated Dehydrate preset | Yes |
| Convection fan/control documented | Yes |
| Slow Cook preset | No |
| App-connected oven control | No |
| Selectable rack positions | 2 |
| Appliance body width | 15.1 in |
| Appliance body depth | 15.4 in |
| Appliance body height | 12.71 in |
| Electrical rating | 1800 W |
| Included wired food-temperature probe with preset doneness control | No |
| French-door opening | No |
| Dedicated dough Proof program | No |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Paper, software and setup details
App-only cooking modes
None documented in the exact product page or linked manual.
Listed supply voltage
The directly linked manual identifies model 31220/type O81 and 120 V, 60 Hz, 1800 W. It cautions against using another high-wattage appliance on the same circuit. Follow the manual and the actual outlet/circuit limits.
Manufacturer warranty summary
The manual states a one-year limited warranty for products purchased and used in the U.S. and Canada. That does not establish coverage for a particular used, returned or replacement unit.
Included cooking pieces
The exact product page depicts an included metal-mesh Air Fry basket, bake pan and broil rack; the directly linked guide identifies the oven rack, Bake/Broil pan, Air Fry basket and slide-out crumb tray. The four linked generic replacement-part pages do not individually state exact 31220 compatibility, so no replacement-part fit is inferred from their names.
Practical care and placement
The manual labels the cavity a nonstick-coated interior. Unplug and cool the oven fully before cleaning; wash the rack, pan, Air Fry basket and crumb tray in hot soapy water, rinse and dry, and wipe the cavity with a damp soapy cloth. Avoid metal scouring pads and scratching the heating tube. Dishwasher-safe status is not stated in the reviewed guide.
Sources for this assessment
Choose around the jobs you will actually repeat.
Check pan size, placement clearance and the exact model suffix before deciding.
