Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Can this earlier Toastation be considered when an upright toaster slot is more important than an exact slice-count minimum?
Yes for the documented slot-plus-oven layout, if earlier models are acceptable. The exact 22720/22722 pages call the slot extra-wide but do not publish a bread-slice count; the image is not a capacity rating.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the listed 16.22-inch body width fit a 16.5-inch counter limit?
The stated body width is below that limit, but the O54 guide also calls for two to four inches from a wall or other counter object. Measure operating space separately.
Explore this need in the finder →Can the 22720 meet an essential need for a dedicated Air Fry preset?
No. Neither the exact page nor the O54 guide documents Air Fry; a toaster slot and an oven cavity are not an Air Fry mode.
Explore this need in the finder →Can its oven be confirmed to meet a 0.5-cu-ft minimum?
No published cubic-foot capacity or cavity dimensions are available in the exact page and linked guide. Unknown capacity cannot pass a hard minimum.
Explore this need in the finder →The Hamilton Beach Toastation 22720 is an earlier two-purpose countertop appliance: a lever-operated bread slot sits above an oven cavity, and a selector chooses which part is active. It is worth considering only if that upright slot is important to your breakfast routine and the small oven can handle your other regular jobs. This is not a conventional toaster plus an oven that can run at the same time; it is one appliance with two sequential uses.
Hamilton Beach’s exact U.S. product page currently says “No Longer Available.” That is useful context for anyone comparing a used or older listing, not a promise about stock or a reason to assume that a particular secondhand unit is safe or complete. Check the model and type label, condition, included pieces and return terms before buying an older appliance.
The top slot is a real point of difference
The 22720 uses a bread lifter and toast-shade control for an upright slot rather than placing bread flat on the oven rack. The maker calls the slot extra-wide and says it accepts wide bagels and breads. However, its exact product text does not give a slice-count rating, so do not assume a two-slice capacity from the product image or from another Toastation model. If you need a verified minimum number of slices, that missing number matters more than the family name.
A separate selector switches from the bread-slot setting to Oven mode. The slot closes when the oven position is selected, so there is no second cooking zone and no parallel toast-and-bake schedule. That layout saves a separate appliance only when one-at-a-time operation fits your household. Choose a regular toaster plus a standalone oven instead if different people need to use both functions concurrently.
Small oven jobs, with real limits
Hamilton Beach describes the oven as useful for baked potatoes, open-face sandwiches, appetizers, pizza, nuggets and fries. Those examples suggest snacks and modest portions rather than a dependable large-pan capacity. The exact page does not publish cubic-foot volume, interior dimensions, a pizza diameter, or a verified pan opening. Measure a dish against the usable interior if a particular pizza, casserole or baking pan is essential; a staged product photograph is not a fit measurement.
The directly linked Use & Care guide identifies the OVEN and TOAST positions, an oven-temperature knob, an ON/OFF button, and indicator lights. It says to select the oven setting and temperature, then preheat for five minutes; the oven shuts off automatically after two hours. The manual gives examples for particular foods, but does not establish complete numerical temperature-range endpoints. It also says to keep food at least one inch from a heating element. The maker’s “up to 30% faster” toast comparison is a qualified manufacturer claim, not an independent test result.
No Air Fry preset, convection setting, app control, probe or independently controlled second cavity is documented for this exact model. If any of those is an essential requirement, the 22720 is the wrong configuration. A toast shade dial is not a multi-program digital menu, and an oven example such as pizza does not prove a rated cavity volume.
Allow room around the body, and expect hands-on cleaning
The exact product page lists the outside body at 16.22 inches wide, 8.86 inches high and 8.46 inches deep. Those are appliance dimensions, not a complete counter-space requirement. The O54 guide calls for two to four inches between the appliance and a wall or other object, says to remove things from the top, and warns against enclosed storage during use. Leave more room for the plug, front-door swing, hot rack and safe handling. A narrow gap that fits the metal body alone is not enough.
The guide’s parts diagram names a baking pan, oven rack and drop-down crumb tray. It says the crumb tray is not removable: open it, shake out the crumbs and wipe it after unplugging and cooling the unit. The oven walls, bottom and glass door are wiped with a damp soapy cloth and then a clean damp cloth. This is less convenient than a removable tray if you expect frequent messy cooking, and the exact product-page wording does not establish that every loose part came in a particular used seller’s box.
Keep the nearby Toastation codes separate

Model 22722 is the red Ensemble-branded sibling shown in the second exact manufacturer page. It links the same O54 Use & Care guide, lists the same exterior dimensions and presents the same slot-and-oven functions. The evidence supports covering it as the same functional plan, while keeping its exact code, page and red image visible; the manufacturer does not state that finish is its only difference.
The earlier 22723 is a separate, narrower 15.2-inch-wide model with its own Type O80 guide and a published two-slice slot description. Do not transfer that slice count or manual details to the 22720. The later 22725 is also a distinct Toastation code: its page and Type O98 guide describe a different model and control layout. Compare those exact records rather than buying by the Toastation name alone.
In short, the 22720 is a plausible used-model fit for a cook who values an upright bread slot, accepts a single selector-controlled cavity, and wants a compact oven for small everyday items. It is a poor fit if you require a published slice count, verified internal dimensions, a large or measured pizza fit, Air Fry, convection or two independent cooking areas. See the exact 22720 page, the 22722 page and their shared Type O54 Use & Care guide.
Key details at a glance
| Named cooking functions | 2 |
|---|---|
| On-oven functions listed by the manufacturer | Toast (top bread slot) / Oven |
| Dedicated Air Fry preset | No |
| Dedicated Dehydrate preset | No |
| Convection fan/control documented | No |
| Slow Cook preset | No |
| App-connected oven control | No |
| Appliance body width | 16.22 in |
| Appliance body depth | 8.46 in |
| Appliance body height | 8.86 in |
| Electrical rating | 1300 W |
| Factory-recertified listing | No |
| Included wired food-temperature probe with preset doneness control | No |
| French-door opening | No |
| Dedicated dough Proof program | No |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Paper, software and setup details
App-only cooking modes
None documented.
Listed supply voltage
Directly linked O54 rating panel identifies models 22720 and 22722 at 120 V / 60 Hz / 1300 W. The manual permits appended suffix letters; check the full physical label for service.
Manufacturer warranty summary
The directly linked manual states one year from original U.S. purchase under its printed terms. A used unit's condition, proof of purchase and warranty coverage are not established.
Included cooking pieces
The O54 guide's parts diagram identifies a baking pan and oven rack. The exact page lists an oven rack and tongs under Parts & Accessories but does not state a used seller's package contents; verify the exact unit and supplied parts.
Practical care and placement
Unplug and allow the appliance to cool before cleaning. The exact guide directs wiping the oven walls, bottom and glass door with a damp soapy cloth, then a clean damp cloth. The drop-down crumb tray is not removable; open it to shake crumbs out and wipe it. Do not cover the tray with foil or use a metal scouring pad.
Sources for this assessment
- Hamilton Beach U.S. toaster-oven archive snapshot; 22720 and 22722 rows
- Toastation Toaster & Oven, model 22720
- Ensemble Toastation Toaster & Oven, model 22722
- Hamilton Beach Use & Care Guide 840219003; Type O54
- Hamilton Beach official page-served image for 22720
- Hamilton Beach official page-served image for 22722
- Hamilton Beach recall-information page
Choose around the jobs you will actually repeat.
Check pan size, placement clearance and the exact model suffix before deciding.
