Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
If you are open to discontinued models, can the Smart Oven Plus BOV810 supply a dedicated Slow Cook preset?
Yes. The exact BOV810 manual names ten preset functions, including Slow Cook. Because Breville marks the BOV810 variants discontinued, include earlier models in the finder before comparing it.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the discontinued BOV810 meet a hard 18-inch body-width ceiling?
No. The exact BOV810 variant page lists an 18.9-inch body width. It requires an additional four inches of side clearance on each side and six inches above, so it is not a fit for an 18-inch case-width limit.
Explore this need in the finder →Can the BOV810 provide convection and Slow Cook without Air Fry if earlier models are acceptable?
Its exact control diagram includes a Convection button and its own ten-function manual includes Slow Cook, while Air Fry is not among the modes. Confirm the model label because the later BOV800 has a different nine-function manual.
Explore this need in the finder →The Breville Smart Oven Plus BOV810 is an earlier US countertop toaster oven with an exact model-specific manual that documents ten preset functions, including Slow Cook. That distinction is important because Breville’s discontinued BOV810 variants now appear under a shared Smart Oven product route whose generic product text describes a different nine-preset model. The BOV810 manual cover says it suits all BOV810 models, and its contents list a separate Slow Cook section. The brushed-stainless variant shown here is BOV810BSSUSC; Breville also listed BOV810CRNUSC in cranberry red. The manufacturer marks those BOV810 configurations discontinued, so this is a useful identification and earlier-model reference rather than a current-generation recommendation.
Keep BOV810 separate from BOV800
The BOV810 has a local front-panel interface with a function dial, temperature/time dials, a convection button and distinct rack-position guidance. Its ten functions are Toast, Bagel, Bake, Roast, Broil, Pizza, Cookies, Reheat, Warm and Slow Cook. The exact manual’s Toast section explains settings up to six slices; its component diagram labels a 13-inch nonstick pizza pan, a 12 × 12-inch enamel baking pan, a matching broiling rack and a wire rack. The model-specific Slow Cook mode is not listed in the current BOV800 manual, which names nine functions. These are not interchangeable manuals or finish suffixes of one model.
The BOV810 manual’s page-six rack diagram assigns higher, middle and lower positions for different jobs, including broiling, toast/bagel/pizza/cookies and the bake/roast/reheat/warm/slow-cook group. The separate convection control is not an Air Fry setting. There is no Air Fry preset, air-fry basket, Dehydrate cycle or app-control system documented for BOV810. If those are essential, the later BOV860, BOV900 or BOV950 have their own distinct mode and accessory sets.
Fit the exact case and its operating space
The BOV810-selected Breville US page gives an 18.9 × 15.9 × 10.9-inch body. Its archived product page displays the exact discontinued BOV810 cranberry variant, while the exact manual confirms that the appliance needs at least four inches of air at each side and six inches above. Add clearance to the case dimensions, then leave room for the plug, drop-down door and a safe place to put a hot pan. Do not use an image or the similar BOV800 name to guess capacity: the BOV810 manual gives six-slice toast and a 13-inch pizza pan but does not state cubic-foot cavity volume or appliance weight.
The 13-inch pizza pan and 12-inch-square bake/broil pieces give practical dimensions to check against your own cookware. Measure the outside rim and any handles, and ensure the oven door can close with the dish placed on the correct rack. The number of slices or diameter of a pizza is not a promise that a tall casserole, pan grip or multi-rack load fits. Breville’s manual also recommends a dedicated circuit; that and the clearance matter more than trying to press an older countertop appliance into an undersized alcove.
The Slow Cook routine has specific steps
The BOV810 Slow Cook instructions use the wire rack at the lowest rack position and oven-proof cookware placed toward the center, with room for airflow around the food. The preset starts at the four-hour setting; the manual describes LO and HI temperature profiles and an adjustable timer from two to eight hours. When the Slow Cook cycle ends, the oven automatically switches to Warm, with a two-hour maximum keep-warm period. This is more specific than leaving an oven on a generic low Bake setting, but it remains a single oven cavity: choose one dish, safe vessel and rack arrangement at a time.
For first use, the manual calls for a 15-minute empty run in a well-ventilated area to remove protective substances from the heating elements. The body, door and rack are hot during and after use. Turn the oven off, unplug it and wait for it to cool before cleaning. The manual gives a clear crumb-tray routine: remove it after the oven is cool, wash with warm soapy water, dry completely and fit it back securely. It also warns against covering the crumb tray with metal foil.
Who should consider an earlier BOV810?
Use this reference if you have a BOV810 already, are comparing a used unit, or find a seller naming the Smart Oven Plus. Check the bottom/back model label and match the suffix to the right manual; the cranberry BOV810CRNUSC and brushed-stainless BOV810BSSUSC share a model family, but condition, missing pans and seller-provided accessories still need to be checked. Since Breville lists the BOV810 as discontinued, assess availability, warranty and service with the seller rather than assuming current manufacturer support or a new-unit package.
The current BOV800 is a more straightforward current-reference comparison with nine presets and convection, but it does not document the BOV810’s Slow Cook mode. The current BOV845 also adds Slow Cook and is the closest modern classic Smart Oven Pro reference; it has its own manual, exact dimensions and included accessories. For dedicated Air Fry compare BOV680/BOV860; for Dehydrate compare BOV900/BOV950. This BOV810 review is based on its model-specific instruction book, product-variant listing and exact manufacturer image, not a cooking test or personal ownership. It makes no claim about toast consistency, preheat time, noise or long-term reliability.
Key details at a glance
| Toast capacity stated by the manufacturer | 6 slices |
|---|---|
| Nominal pizza size | 13 in |
| Named cooking functions | 10 |
| On-oven functions listed by the manufacturer | Toast / Bagel / Bake / Roast / Broil / Pizza / Cookies / Reheat / Warm / Slow Cook |
| Dedicated Air Fry preset | No |
| Dedicated Dehydrate preset | No |
| Convection fan/control documented | Yes |
| Slow Cook preset | Yes |
| App-connected oven control | No |
| Selectable rack positions | 3 |
| Appliance body width | 18.9 in |
| Appliance body depth | 15.9 in |
| Appliance body height | 10.9 in |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Paper, software and setup details
App-only cooking modes
None documented for the BOV810 model.
Manufacturer warranty summary
Not stated in the BOV810-specific manual pages reviewed; verify any remaining seller paperwork.
Included cooking pieces
12 × 12 in enamel baking pan; 12 × 12 in enamel broiling rack; 13 in non-stick pizza pan; wire rack.
Practical care and placement
The BOV810 manual calls for a 15-minute empty first-use run in a ventilated area. Turn off, unplug and let the oven cool fully before cleaning; remove and wash the crumb tray with warm soapy water and dry it before reinserting.
Sources for this assessment
Choose around the jobs you will actually repeat.
Check pan size, placement clearance and the exact model suffix before deciding.
